Things I am (was) doing

I started this post in May. Since it’s now almost August, you can see how well this is going. But today we’re going to finish it up and finally reach out to you patient folks who have been waiting since November last year (holy cheeseballs, that’s a wait)!

Last October I finished Terran B and the Asteroid Belt. Super thanks to my patrons over on Patreon: Mona, Sarah, Ellie and Joan. Then I needed it to sit and ruminate for a couple of months. I’ve been editing it and working on the cover for a couple of months now. I also had some beta readers help me out with typos and dumb mistakes. Thank you, Lucinda and Kyera. In September I’ll start doing some promotion for a release in October. I’m still working out location and date but it’ll be in person this time in the Ottawa area. If you’d like an online release as well, like I did for Another Chance in London, let me know. I can make that happen!

I’ve put Robin’s story (from the Pure Red Sand universe) on hold for now. I think the part I’ve written so far might need some larger revisions and I’m working on the big planning. I’m still hoping to finish and release this in the next couple of years but I don’t want to do a bad job either.

The sequel to Terran B and the Asteroid Belt (working title: Terese’s Revenge) has been started and I figured out what I was going to do. By the end of Chapter Three, the characters were headed off in a different direction, so I guess we’re all in for a wild ride. I’ll let you know when I arrive and where.

I’ve got a big personal event happening next month but I’ll be accepting new editing and mentoring clients starting mid September. If you’re finishing up a book and need some help getting it ready for the world, I can help with that! Also, if you’re working on a big project or a book, I’d be happy to work with you as a mentor to get you to where you and your project/book want to be. You can reach out through my website or via email at m.negrijn (at) gmail.com

My life isn’t all writing these days (and court recording/transcribing which pays the bills). I have too many hobbies as well so I thought I would tell you about them. I’m working on a giant cross stitch pattern that is very beyond me but never say die. It’s a gift so I can’t say much more than that. I’m also knitting a 1940’s service sweater (vintage style, NOT vintage values) that I found in a book that belonged to my grandmother/her sister. I’m very excited about it even if I’ve had to start it three times! Don’t worry. I’m more stubborn than this pattern. I also took lessons in shuttle tatting lace. It’s a surprisingly relaxing hobby so if you’re considering it, it takes a bit to get the hand movements down but then you’re golden.

My garden didn’t really get going this year but my seeds didn’t germinate and I ended up spending more time than I expected in other hobbies. Plus this big event next month. That’s okay. Next year is bright and I have A PLAN.

I’ve also started cycling more regularly the last couple of years. Last year I took part in my first event (CN Cycle for CHEO). I did it again in May of this year and then did my first race. We did a trial ride July 1st and it was INTENSE. I came in dead last in my age range (30-49) in my distance but I was riding the wrong type of bike (heavier and slower) and it was just a lot. I’m still very proud of having finished it and I’m hoping to go back again next year and do better. There were only three of us in the group so I actually got to the podium. That was kind of embarrassing and fun. The women who took part in the event were amazing and very inspiring. If you’re interested, it was the Wakefield Women’s Gravel Grind. Beware the hills!

Hoping to have another post soon. All the best! ~M

Leave a comment